They tell, you get what you’re paying for! The quality comes with a price in the case of the bestselling Cisco 2960 switch, a reliable enterprise-grade Ethernet switch with a lifetime warranty. Looking around for a used model is meaningful for a buyer. Check WS-C3750X-24U-S.
You may face a problem when buying a used switch if the vendor has forgotten to reset his password. Fortunately, it’s straightforward to recover the password on that switch. During the power-on, you may interrupt the boot sequence, then assign a new password.
However, if this feature is disabled, only by agreeing to lose your old configuration will you be able to recover the password: in that case, the system configuration will be restored to factory settings. The recovery process for passwords on Cisco 2960 switches will differ depending on whether the recovery of the password is enabled or disabled.
On the other hand, the password on your Cisco 2960 switch can be very easily reset to default. Be aware that while the reset procedure is rather uninvolved, your switch returns to its factory settings: all your settings will be wiped out, and not just the old password! This technique works only if you have the computer physically accessible. Auto setup should be turned off.
First, by unplugging its cord, power off your Cisco 2960 switch. Press and hold the “Mode” button while you reconnect the switch to the power source. On switches from Cisco 2960 this button is on the front of the switch, on the left side.
The LED above the button will move from amber to green after three seconds, and start blinking. You should hold the button down until the light stops blinking. Lets go of the press.
Congratulations, your Cisco 2960 switch has just been reset! Now the password is reset to factory defaults.
Obviously, this procedure should only be used if you don’t care about the current configuration, because you will lose your configuration during the password recovery process! The old setup gets renamed “.old.”
In such cases, this reset technique can be useful when you need to shift a connection from one network to another, or when a system has become too complicated, and you’d like a new start.